Hypoglycemia

Saw my p-doc yesterday.  He’s concerned that I may be having episodes of hypoglycemia.  He even gave me four rolls of glucose tablets.  I don’t know if this is part of the fibro or not.  But he’s thinking that the panic attacks I’ve been having are more to do with my blood sugar bottoming out.

It doesn’t help that I have no appetite.  I have to force myself to eat, and then only because they serve dinner at work.  I usually eat about a quarter cup of rice and maybe the soup if it doesn’t look too seaweed-ish (don’t get me wrong, I like seaweed, but only in its dried form).

And if you’re wondering, starting an IV on a dehydrated, hypotensive, hypothermic patient is a whole lot of fun.  Something like 15 sticks to get it in.  Amazingly, the only place I bruised is where they finally got it in on the side of my foot.

And since I haven’t eaten all day (yeah, I know), I’m shaking and dizzy and starting to feel panicky, I’m going to try one of these whopping tablet things.

2 thoughts on “Hypoglycemia

  1. I get the same thing. It is a symptom of Fibro as well as Lupus. These immune deficiency disorders wreak havoc on the metabolism. When we bottom out it will raise our blood pressure as well as cause anxiety. I can see from your recent entries you are right smack in the middle of the more serious symptoms of this illness. We’ll have to talk later so I can pass on some info about this. I’m sorry, I really am. I am really sorry!

Leave a Reply

